Whether or not people are actually interested in hijacking your plethora of wall posts that reveal your daily mood, your hobbies and maybe your embarrassing nickname is another topic, but if you want to secure your Facebook from prying eyes (when connected to public WiFi hotspots, for example), just do this:

– After logging into Facebook, go to Account –> Account Settings (top-right of the page)

– Click change to the right of Account Security

– Enable the checkbox Browse Facebook on a secure connection (https) whenever possible

– For uber security, the checkboxes below that section allow you to be notified when anyone, anywhere logs into your account.

So keep that embarrassing nickname where it belongs – in the hands of everyone who’s friend request you’ve ever accepted.